From Alia to Kriti, Here are Winners of the National Film Awards 2023

favebook twitter whatsapp linkedin telegram

graph 179 Views

Updated On: 06 Nov 2023

From Alia to Kriti, Here are Winners of the National Film Awards 2023

The National Film Awards Ceremony a grand celebration of excellence in the field of the Indian film industry was held at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi on Tuesday, 17th October, 2023. It was conferred by the President of India, Droupadi Murmu. The event was filled with stars and it honored some of the most talented and outstanding individuals in the film industry including the acclaimed actresses Kriti Sanon and Alia Bhatt for their remarkable performances in their respective movies ‘Mimi’ and ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi,’ among many other notable stars.

The ceremony consisted of many significant winners and the event was glorified by Kriti Sanon, who won the Best Actress award for her excellent performance in the movie ‘Mimi.’ The actress was already present in Delhi and received this prestigious award at the Vigyan Bhavan. She expressed her gratitude, saying, “I thank God and my fans for everything My prayers have been answered. I hope this win inspires boys and girls who watch thousands of dreams and want to make them come true.”

Alia Bhatt received the Best Actress Award for her awe-inspiring performance in the movie ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’ where she played a strong character who spoke about awareness of social issues. Along with these two, other notable actors who received prestigious awards included Allu Arjun for his remarkable acting and the charismatic star of the movie “Pushpa: The Rise.” He was bestowed with the Best Actor award marking a footprint as the first Telegu actor to achieve this height. He became the first Telegu actor to receive this prestigious award. 

Additionally, the movie, ‘Rocketry: The Nambi Effect,’ directed by R. Madhavan was recognized as the Best Feature Film, and on the other hand, Vivek Agnihotri’s ‘The Kashmir Files’ received the  Nargis Dutt Award for the Best Feature Film on National Integration.

In addition to all the above mentioned, veteran actress of the Indian Film Industry Waheeda Rehman was honored with the Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award for her excellent contributions towards Indian cinemas. Waheeda expressed her gratitude upon receiving the award as she was overwhelmed by her emotions. The actress played outstanding roles in Hindi cinemas namely Pyaasa(1957), Kagaz Ke Phool, Saheb Biwi Aur Gulam, Khamoshi(1969), Chaudhavi ka Chand (1960), Guide, and many more.

Award List:

Below is the complete list of the winners who are the recipients of this prestigious award.

Best Actor:Allu Arjun for Pushpa
Best Actress:Alia Bhatt for Gangubai Kathiawadi and Kriti Sanon for Mimi
Best Supporting Actor:Pankaj Tripathi for Mimi
Best Supporting Actress:Pallavi Joshi for The Kashmir Files
Best Feature Film:Rocketry: The Nambi Effect
Best Director:Nikhil Mahajan for Godavari
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment:RRR
Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration:The Kashmir Files
Best Child Artist:Bhavin Rabari for Chhello Show
Best Screenplay (Original):Shahi Kabir for Nayattu
Best Screenplay (Adapted):Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Utkarshini Vashishtha for Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Dialogue Writer :Utkarshini Vashishtha and Prakash Kapadia for Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Music Director (Songs):Devi Sri Prasad for Pushpa
Best Music Direction (Background Music):MM Keeravaani for RRR
Best Male Playback Singer:Kaala Bhairava for RRR
Best Female Playback Singer:Shreya Ghoshal for Iravin Nizhal
Best Lyrics:Chandrabose for Konda Polam’s Dham Dham Dham
Best Hindi Film:Sardar Udham
Best Kannada Film:777 Charlie
Best Malayalam Film:Home
Best Gujarati Film:Chhello Show
Best Tamil Film:Kadaisi Vivasayi
Best Telegu Film:Uppena
Best Maithili Film:Samanantar
Best Mishing Film:Boomba Ride
Best Marathi Film:Ekda Kaay Zala
Best Bengali Film:Kalkokkho
Best Assamese Film:Anur
Best Meiteilon Film:Eikhoigi Yum
Best Odiya Film:Pratikshya
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director:Meppadiyan, Vishnu Mohan
Best Film on Social Issues:Anunaad – The Resonance
Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation:Aavasavyuham
Best Children’s Film:Gandhi and Co
Best Audiography (Location Sound Recordist):Arun Asok & Sonu K P for Chavittu
Best Audiography (Sound Designer):Aneesh Basu for Jhilli
Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track):Sinoy Joseph for Sardar Udham
Best Choreography:Prem Rakshith for RRR
Best Cinematography:Avik Mukhopadhayay for Sardar Udham
Best Costume Designer:Veera Kapur Ee for Sardar Udham
Best Special Effects:Srinivas Mohan for  RRR
Best Production Design:Dmitrii Malich and Mansi Dhruv Mehta for Sardar Udham
Best Editing:Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Makeup:Preetisheel Singh for Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Stunt Choreography:King Soloman for RRR
Best Non-feature film:Ek Tha Gaon
Best Direction (Non-feature film):Bakul Matiyani, Smile Please
Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director:Paanchika, Ankit Kothari
Best Anthropological Film:Fire on Edge
Best Biographical Film:Rukhu Matir Dukhu Majhi and Beyond Blast
Best Arts Films:T.N. Krishnan Bow Strings to Divine
Best Science & Technology Films:Ethos of Darkness
Best Promotional Film:Endangered Heritage ‘Warli Art’
Best Environment Film (Non-feature film):Munnam Valavu
Best Film on Social Issues (Non-feature film):Mithu Di and Three Two One
Best Investigative Film:Looking For Challan
Best Exploration Film:Ayushman
Best Educational Film:Sirpigalin Sirpangal
Best Short Fiction Film:Dal Bhat
Best Animation Film:Kandittund
Best Film on Family Values:Chand Saanse
Best Cinematography (Non-feature film):Bittu Rawat, Pataal
Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track) (Non-feature film):Unni krishnan, Ek Tha Gaon
Best Production Sound Recordist (Location/Sync Sound) (Non-feature film):Suruchi Sharma, Meen Raag
Best Editing (Non-feature film):Abhro Banerjee, If Memory Serves Me Right
Best Music Direction (Non-feature film):Ishaan Divecha, Succulent
Best Narration/Voice Over (Non-feature film):Kulada Kumar Bhattacharjee, Hathibondhu
Special Jury Award:Shershaah, Vishnuvardhan
Special Mention:1. Late Shri Nallandi, Kadaisi Vivasayi 2. Aranya Gupta & Bithan Biswas, Jhilli 3. Indrans, Home 4. Jahanara Begum, Anur
Special Mention (Non-feature film):1. Aniruddha Jatkar, Baale Bangara 2. Srikanth Deva, Karuvarai 3. Sweta Kumar Das, The Healing Touch, 4. Ram Kamal Mukherjee, Ek Duaa
Special Jury Award (Non-feature film):Shekhar Bapu Rankhambe, Rekha
Best Book on Cinema:Music by Laxmikant Pyarelal: The Incredibly Melodious Journey by Rajiv Vijayakar
Best Film Critic:Purushothama Charyulu
Best Film Critic (Special Mention):Subramanya Bandoor
Soundarya Kamat

Soundarya Kamat is an inquisitive individual with a deep passion for the formation of names and an expertise in freestyle writing. Her relentless curiosity drives her to research and explore the intricacies behind the origins and meanings of names, unraveling the stories they hold. Holding a certifi... Read More

... Read More

You might also like